Structural Engineering Institute 2010 Awards

The Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) proudly recognized recipients at the 2010 Joint NASCC: The Steel Conference and Structures Congress in Orlando, Florida on May 15, 2010.

photo of medal

Moisseiff Award

Established by the American Society of Civil Engineers in April 1947, the Moiseiff Award is a memorial in recognition of the accomplishments of Leon S. Moisseiff, M.ASCE, a notable contributor to the science and art of structural design. The award recognizes a paper contributing to structural design, including applied mechanics, as well as the theoretical analysis or construction improvement of engineering structures, such as bridges and frames, of any structural material. The 2010 award was presented to Joseph Yura, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; Todd Helwig, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; Chong Zhou, Ph.D., P.E., A.M.ASCE; and Reagan Herman, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE for the paper “Global Lateral Buckling of I-Shaped Girder Systems,” published in the September 2008 issue of the Journal of Structural Engineering. Prof. Yura is Professor Emeritus in Civil Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin; Prof. Helwig is an Assistant Professor in Civil Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin; Dr. Zhou is a Senior Specialist at Technip USA; and Dr. Herman is a Resident Assistant Professor in Civil Engineering at Johns Hopkins University.

four headshots of medal winners