FSEL would like to congratulate Dr. Tricia Clayton for being selected for the American Institute of Steel Construction’s (AISC’s) Early Career Faculty Award.  This award was initiated by AISC to provide recognition to individuals who demonstrate promise in the areas of structural steel research, teaching and other contributions to the structural steel industry.  Tricia will receive her award at NASCC, The Steel Conference, in San Antonio in March 2017.

Congratulations, Tricia!  Besides being a great personal award, your efforts add to the stature of our CAEE community.

Professor Ned Burns, national leader in structural engineering research, and member of the Ferguson Laboratory family, passed away on November 5th, 2016.

More information can be found here.

Dr. Todd Helwig was recently named the 2017 AISC T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award winner. Todd received this prestigious award at the NASCC: The Steel Conference, on March 22nd 2017 in San Antonio.  This award was based on his outstanding scholarly publications and reputation as an engineer. He was also recently formally inducted into the UT CAEE Academy of Distinguished Alumni.

Congratulations Dr. Helwig!

The 2016 Structural Engineering Education Reunion (STEER) will take place September 22nd-23rd, 2016 in Austin, TX to celebrate the distinguished career of Dr. James Jirsa. After forty-four years at The University of Texas at Austin, Dr. Jirsa will be retiring from his position in August of 2016. For more information, please visit the STEER website.

Dr. Eric Williamson gave a presentation entitled “Seismic Vulnerability of Texas Bridges” at the 2016 CTR Symposium. This presentation was on work being done as part of the TxDOT-sponsored project entitled “Seismic Vulnerability and Post-Event Actions,” and the presentation slides can be viewed below.


Blake Stasney, laboratory manager, retired after 39 years at the laboratory on May 3rd, 2016. He played a huge role in the success of the laboratory and greatly influenced hundreds of students in his time at the lab. A retirement party was thrown for him to recognize his hard work, dedication, and service. He will be sorely missed!


 Michelle Damvar received a 2016 CAEE Staff Excellence Award which is presented to staff members who have distinguished themselves and contributed significantly to the CAEE department's teaching, advising, mentoring, and/or research efforts.

Congratulations to Dr. Eric Williamson for his selection as the recipient of the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) 2015 Bliss Medal. This award is given for excellence in education and student mentoring, and reflects Dr. Williamson's dedication to the students that serve in the military. Dr. Williamson will be formally recognized at the 2016 Joint Engineer Education and Training Conference & Expo in Phoenix, Arizona, May 24-26, 2016.

Hossein Yosefpour's research while working toward a PhD under Dr. Todd Helwig and Dr. Oguzhan Bayrak made the front cover of the PCI Journal for the September-October 2015 issue. His paper, titled "Construction Stresses in the World's First Precast Concrete Network Arch Bridge", spans eighteen pages of the journal and is the feature article. To read more about his research, visit the research spotlight page found here.

headshot of Salvatore SalamoneThe Ferguson Laboratory welcomes Dr. Salvatore Salamone, a new Assistant Professor at UT and the laboratory. He comes from the University of Buffalo where he was an Assistant Professor. He received his masters and doctorate degree from the University of Palermo and did a post doctorate at The University of California- San Diego. His research is on structural health monitoring, non-destructive evaluation, resilience of structural systems subject to earthquakes, ultrasonic sensing methods for smart structures, wave propagation in solids, digital signal processing and pattern recognition, dynamics and vibrations of structural systems, and piezoelectric energy harvesting. He will occupy the SHM/NDE laboratory at FSEL.